Writing Process Blog Tour

Hello, friends! Last week my friend, Rob Smales, (http://www.robsmales.com/my-writing-process-blog-tour) invited me to participate in the world-famous Writing Process Blog Tour. He asked me to answer a series of questions about my process and to share them with all of you lovely people. I felt this would be a great thing to share, since beginning writers are so often trying to figure out how it works for other writers. The thing I would like you most to take away from this blog is that there is no right way. Whatever helps you put words on a page is a valid process. So, without further ado:

1. What am I working on?
I am working on two novels right now. One is an urban fantasy called Blue, which is about a young girl with Christ-like powers who runs away from an abusive home and finds out the world is even weirder and fuller of magic than she realized. The second is the as-of-yet untitled third to my Knight of Avalon series, a New Adult fantasy series about a half-fairy girl and her fight for equality on the Island of Apples.
2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?
I think the most ‘different’ aspect of my work is the way I present the magic. In Urban Fantasy, magic is often hidden from ‘normal’ people. In my work, magic is an everyday aspect of modern life. Avalon is a sovereign nation, the Fey have an embassy in Los Angeles, and there is a customs office on the border between Earth and Faerie. I strongly believe there is magic in everything, and it is plain to see if a person is looking for it. My work reflects that.
3. Why do I write what I do?
I think there is powerful metaphor in fantasy fiction. Fantasy writers are free to comment on the state of our society more openly than other writers. If I make racism and homophobia an Elvish problem, no one feels accused, but he does stop to examine the workings of his own beliefs.
4. How does my writing process work?
I can’t lie; my writing process is deeply inefficient. It starts out with a flash of inspiration. I usually only see a character, or possibly a piece of scenery. For example, with Knight of Avalon, the flash was a wounded Faerie creature stumbling into a YMCA on a stormy night. With Blue, it was a young girl with purple tips in her hair running away from home, and the knowledge that the girl could heal with the touch of her hand. I usually stay up too late on those nights when inspiration strikes, writing on whatever surface I can touch; maybe it’s in a notebook with a pen, maybe it’s on a bunch of coffee filters.
I then hammer out a rough draft. That usually takes me a while, because every time I try to make an outline, I fail miserably. The story is as likely to die during birth as to actually reach draft form if I write an outline. So instead I just write things down until something sticks, pantster-style. That involves a lot of back-tracking and rewriting, a lot of re-reading to get back into the proper mood. It sounds like a bad plan, but after twenty years of writing, it’s what works best for me.
I have also realized that I need constant feedback to stay on track. I belong to two different writer’s groups, and they read every chapter for me. It is usually better if I have something rough before I begin workshopping, so I get as far into the draft on my own as I can. They help me with editing, proofreading, and things I can’t provide for myself.
When I have finished the rough and workshopped the whole thing, I then select a handful of beta readers. They read the whole book, and then when I have their feedback, I rewrite. The re-writing can take a while. I re-write until the book gleams. Then it’s off to the publisher for a professional edit, and I start something else. The least amount of time this process has ever taken is six months, and the most is thirteen years. The length of the work is a factor in the time frame, as well.

If you are still curious about writing processes and how they work, please tune in next week to three more lovely writers:

Dawn Colclasure is a writer who lives in Oregon. Her articles, essays, poems and short stories have appeared in several newspapers, anthologies, magazines and E-zines. She is the author and co-author of twenty books, among them BURNING THE MIDNIGHT OIL: How We Survive as Writing Parents; 365 TIPS FOR WRITERS: Inspiration, Writing Prompts and Beat The Block Tips to Turbo Charge Your Creativity; Love is Like a Rainbow: Poems of Love and Devotion; On the Wings of Pink Angels: Triumph, Struggle and Courage Against Breast Cancer; and the children’s book The Yellow Rose. Her website is at http://dmcwriter.tripod.com/.
And here is her blog:

http://dawncolclasureblog.blogspot.com/

Author, Ruth J. Burroughs, has been writing science fiction since elementary school after reading Dodie Smith’s, The Starlight Barking, the sequel to the more famous spotted dog story.

After reading poetry in Albany New York’s summer open mike events Ruth was invited to read her science fiction at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute’s WRPI 91.5. She received an Honorable Mention at Speculation’s Rumor Mill for her micro story, Zombie Bouillabaisse, which was later published on Macabre Cadaver Magazine as a reprint. Her blog is here:http://mareimbriumdowns.wordpress.com/about/

And finally, L.M. David has been writing novels since Jr. High School. Originally drawn to the genre of Science Fiction, she later developed a deep fascination with paranormal/urban fantasy/romance, attracted to the dark erotic world of vampires that sparked a deep interest with the folklore and legends of the undead.
L.M. David is an avid reader and when not writing, she builds computers, quilts, and makes jewelry. She has worked as a legal assistant and now as an insurance medical biller and coder. Although born in New Jersey, her family relocated to California and she now considers herself a Southern Californian. http://lmdavid54.wordpress.com/

Thanks for reading!

2 Comments »

  1. I enjoyed reading this. Looking forward to participating!

  2. […] week my friend, M.L. John, (https://mljohn.wordpress.com/2014/07/20/writing-process-blog-tour/) invited me to participate in the world-famous Writing Process Blog Tour. She asked me to answer a […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

