Review of Daughter of Mythos, By Melissa Drake

I recently finished reading “Daughter of Mythos,” by Melissa Drake. This book is a YA fantasy about a girl named Nora with a mysterious past and an uncertain future. Nora is a foster kid, but she has a bigger problem than most: whenever she gets comfortable in a new home, something terrible happens. An unseen force tears her new home apart, leaving Nora to clean up the mess. Usually, that involves moving to yet another foster home, trying to integrate into another new school, and trying to build a life with people who really don’t trust her. When it happens again, she’s off to yet another new home, but this time, something is different. The people here know she is something different. Something special.
It isn’t long before Nora has a quest before her: She will travel through a new world, be dogged my demons and wicked sorcerers, and she will be asked to perform tasks she thought impossible. Along the way, she might fall in love, she might make a new friend, and she might even die. Who knew growing up could be so uncertain?
This book was fun and fast-paced, and the beginning immediately drew me in. The story was interesting throughout, and I kept reading until I got to the end because I wanted to know what happened next. The editing was good and the plotline was easy to follow. It took me a while to read this, though. I think it was because there was a lack of depth: description, dialogue, and character. We are left to make assumptions about creatures and lands we have never seen. We are told Nora is fighting demons, but we are never really told what demons are; what they look like, sure, but not why demons are present in a world that is more Fantasyland than Hell. Mythos is beautiful and has a purple sky, but beyond that I never really got a good image of it in my head. All relationships were a little thin, a little surface-only—I never connected with anyone, even when Nora did. Because of this, emotional impacts didn’t hit as hard as one might hope, and I repeatedly put the book down. In short, this book was not true love for me, but it was true like.
I am giving this book four stars because it was entertaining and I think kids would really enjoy it. My son (who is ten) picked up my Kindle and was hooked. Mythos is a safe world for him to read with Melissa as his tour guide. I have recommended it to a few different young readers. So if you are looking for something light and good fun, you’ll like Daughter of Mythos.

To purchase, please visit Melissa Drake at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Daughter-Mythos-Melissa-Drake-ebook/dp/B00DZDRJ94/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1386274699&sr=8-1&keywords=daughter+of+mythos

Leave a Reply

