Review: 100 Unfortunate Days, By Penelope Crowe

I just finished reading 100 Unfortunate Days, by Penelope Crowe. It was horror, which isn’t my normal cup of tea, but if you like your fiction to frighten you, I recommend it wholeheartedly. I gave it four stars, which may be because it scared me too much to sleep after I read it. You horror buffs would probably call that a 5 star read!

This book read like the stream-of-consciousness diary of a woman losing her mind. I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I read it, and at first, I wasn’t sure if it was fiction or the actual thoughts of someone suffering from mental illness. I thought, there’s no story to this, but there is. It’s buried in the ramblings. Strange and dark, this book left me with a heavy chill that wouldn’t let me sleep even after I put it down. The spookiest part was that some of this madwoman’s thoughts echoed feelings I’ve had myself. It was really
frightening because it made me wonder if I was the one losing my mind. It is real horror, and real art. It’s the only thing like it I have ever read. If you are a horror fan, this is sure to frighten you, because it’s about the darkness that lurks in us all.

For the interested, a link: http://www.amazon.com/100-Unfortunate-Days-Penelope-Crowe-ebook/dp/B009WR2BFO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385867583&sr=8-1&keywords=100+unfortunate+days

Take my advice: This is one to read during the day.

Leave a Reply

