Guest Post From Juliann Whicker

Today we have a special treat, folks! A guest post from Hotblood: House of Slide author Juliann Whicker! Let’s give her a warm welcome!

As a self published writer there is always a whispering voice in the back of my head that says I cheated. Real writers don’t self-publish, they wait for other people to publish them. What about Walt Whitman? I argue. He’s dead and things change, is the reply. Well, say I, things are certainly changing now. People can read without books. How is that for change? My whispering voice only has one more response. You’re a self-published writer, and that will always have a stigma attached. Well, I would like to officially quiet that voice for at least until it thinks of another objection. I am not a self published writer anymore. I’m an indie. Oh yes, there is a cool word now for people like me, people are blogging and the rhetoric is spreading so that you have ‘cool’ and ‘liberated’ and ‘anti-institutional’ instead of, ‘bad writers who can’t get traditionally published’. I’m now an indie author, a down with the man proponent for societal change that starts with twitter and ends with overthrowing tyrannies! Oh, it’s a glorious new day! Of course, I’m still afraid of twitter. I’m afraid of admitting that I don’t have anything interesting to talk about that is shorter than thirty thousand words. My superpower growing up was killing computers. I got to know the computer lab tech people way too well in college. Not that was a bad thing, one of them was really cute. At any rate, I’m not one of those people who know how to manipulate code. I can hardly program my answering machine. And yet here I am, riding this wave of technology like I know what I’m doing. All right, not like I know what I’m doing, but hanging on tight and riding it anyway into the future!

Juliann Whicker is the writer of YA urban fantasy Hotblood, House of Slide.

He stole a kiss from the wrong girl…
Left without a soul, 17-year-old Dariana Sanders waited to die. There was nothing left to live for, nothing to feel besides the aching cold that never stopped. Her parent’s marriage was in shambles, and her brother, the only one who understood, the only one who knew how to make the cold go away, was gone forever. The only thing Dariana knew with absolute certainty was that nothing could possibly be right again. Enter Lewis Axel Nialls. Luckily for her, impossible is right up his alley. He can save her from the forces that wish to destroy her. Of course who’s going to save him, from her?

Her book is available in ebook from Amazon/Kindle, Barnes and Nobles, and Smashwords. Her paperback book is available https://www.createspace.com/3582867 password chacha or from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

