Review: The Turn of the Karmic Wheel

I have never written a book review before, but when I was asked to do so by my friend Monica Brinkman I figured I’d better start. Let me explain this about Monica: she’s literally one of the kindest, wisest people I know. I met her about a year ago in my writer’s group, back when she was just finishing up The Turn of the Karmic Wheel. She posted a few chapters and I had the great honor and pleasure of helping in the workshopping process. So when I got the chance to write her a review, I hopped on it. I mean, how exciting is it when a book goes to press that you actually saw in draft form? Who could pass that up?
So here goes. I hope you enjoy my first attempt at a review.
In the small town of Raleigh, MO something really strange is happening. Local people are hearing music from nowhere. Frightening messages that disappear on their own are showing up in the email inboxes of internet moguls. Voices chant sing-song threats at people who have spent their lives hurting others. Then things start to get weird. A man who has always prided himself on his looks starts to grow beastlike hair. A successful local businesswoman develops scales. And three new friends find out they have more in common than they thought. What can be causing the happenings in Raleigh? How can they be stopped?
The action in The Turn of the Karmic Wheel starts on the very first page. It is well-paced and exciting throughout. It is also different from many of the books I’ve read because there is no main character. Instead there’s a town full of wonderful, vivid people. As I read through the book I felt connected and invested in each and every one of them. In fact, my only complaint would be that it seemed to end too quickly. I can’t wait for the sequel Monica’s been promising!
In short, I thought The Turn of the Karmic Wheel was a lovely, insightful book that could only have been written by a lady as wonderful as Monica. If you get a few minutes I would definitely pick it up. It is available both in paperback and ebook. Here’s a link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0984615466/ref=cm_cr_thx_view?tag=533633855-20
One more great thing about this book is that part of the proceeds go to researching a cure for Epidermolysis Bullosa, a rare and terrible disease that afflicts not only a child in Monica’s book but also a member of her family. So go, buy now! You won’t regret it.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Review: The Turn of the Karmic Wheel (mljohn.wordpress.com) […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

