Marketing Your Novel

I’m trying to learn how to market. Lord, it is an odd process.
We’ll start by saying that my publisher is small and relatively new. Even though they are awesome and they will be millionaires in no time, it means that they are unable to pour a lot of money into marketing. To be honest, and this is for all of those new writers out there, it’s probably good to have a marketing network all set up when you first start out trying to publish. Even when you get an agent, or even a more traditional publisher than the one I went with, you should probably already have a Twitter page, Facebook, Author’s Den, a blog… something. It seems, at first, like a writer’s job is to write, but after a certain point your job becomes to sell your book. Some of you may be asking why it’s worth it. I will say this in response…because you want to quit your job. Say it with me: I want to quit my job and write FULL TIME. You know you do. Don’t try to act as if you like working your day job. It takes 3-7 impressions before a person decides to buy a product. And since your novel is your product, you will sell more copies if you create an online presence. Or, at least, so I’m told.
So, that being said, I had none of this in place. NONE. The only reason I had a Twitter account was because one of the girls from my writer’s group nagged me mercilessly until I finally gave in. I have said before that social networking gives me the heebie jeebies. But now I hate myself for not doing it before. When I decided to go with a small press I had to get all of this stuff set up in the last two months before my book came out. And when the book came out I had to find reviewers, advertising, interviews…I’m dead serious, it took weeks. And then I found out that I should have started doing this SIX MONTHS before the book came out. Gadzooks! I’m behind before I even started! It turns out that a focused marketing effort takes a year to gather a following.
So, I guess the point of this particular blog is GET MOVING, WRITERS! BEING ARTSY AND HAVING TIM BURTON’S HAIR ISN’T GOING TO SELL YOUR NOVEL!
Final paragraph before I go: I am now a professional writer! I have sold a confirmed three copies! Of course all my friends said they would buy it, so I guess we’ll see what we will see. But hey, you have to make your first nine dollars somewhere.

Leave a Reply

